I didn’t know we had an awards season around here!

The amazing people over at Limebird Writers have so kindly given me a shiny Kreativ Blogger Award. Such a wonderful way to start the new year!

Now, these things usually come with rules or instructions…. *turns it over and frowns at the blank bottom*. Um… Oh, wait, there it is, it fell off and got stuck to my dress. Oops.

The rules:

1. Share 10 things you don’t know about me.
2. Pass the award onto 6 other bloggers.

Okay, hmm, 10 things you don’t know about me.

  1. I’m not originally from Vancouver.  I’m a refugee from Toronto who thinks she properly should have been born out here on the west coast in the first place.  I love it out here.
  2. I wrote my first fiction piece when I was 16, a short story for english class about Vampires that even my old-school English teacher loved.  I was hooked on writing, and wanted to be an author in the worst way.
  3. My writing is generally fuelled by a strange combination of bizarre thoughts (that occasionally scare even me) and hot chocolate made from Fry’s Cocoa.  If anyone wants the recipe, just ask.  Trust me, it’s sure to make your brain zing.
  4. I have two cats, one of whom likes to help me write by laying on my legs, pinning me in front of my netbook for hours at a time with his cute, warm furriness.  It actually works.
  5. My current surge in writing was kickstarted early in 2011 with a post in a writer’s forum I’ve been on for years.  It was a repost of someone else’s blog, who’s name entirely escapes me so early in the day/year, about that guy you meet in the bar who says he’s a writer, talks about his ideas and then you find out he never actually writes ANYTHING.  I saw myself in danger of becoming that guy (well, girl in my case) and I sincerely don’t want to be.  It was quite the wake-up call.  Between that and a few other things that I have mentioned before, I decided it was time to stop talking and start doing.  Haven’t looked back since.
  6. I write to a variety of music, some of which comes from movie soundtracks, some from video games, and some is old school hour and a half long trance.  I switch when whatever I was listening to stops working for me.  Once, I listened to the same song all day.  😮
  7. I love rain and can’t stand snow (hence the moving to Vancouver) except on a ski slope.  I’ll go visit it there if I need some, really.  It’s been a fabulous winter here so far, a little wet snow yesterday that didn’t even accumulate because it got washed away by subsequent rain.
  8. The author I would most like to be like is Carol Berg.  One day, I dream of being that good.  I’d like to think that I tell stories in a similar style, but I’d best leave that judgement to others, as I might just be day-dreaming there.  If you haven’t read her and you like fantasy, I heartily recommend her.  So looking forward to her new book in 2 days.
  9. I know that I don’t post about my photography much at all, but that’s because I don’t like to shoot in winter and my writing is currently taking up all of my non-work time.  But I do love to go around with my DSLR camera and shoot plants, buildings, whatever strikes me as evocative or beautiful at the time.  One of these days I’m going to get around to putting prints of some of my best work up for sale, probably on Etsy or something like it, but that’s going to take courage, and all of mine is being used up at the moment by, you guessed it, my writing.
  10. And last, but not least, before I committed so entirely back to my writing, I was an avid gamer.  Mostly RPG’s, particularly Japanese ones, but I lost most of two years to World of Warcraft.  Quitting WoW was part of what I sacrificed to be able to write more, but I don’t regret it.  I miss one or two of the friends I had made, but I don’t regret the sacrifice.  That said, I think some of these games have provided nuggets of inspiration, and I still sometimes take a break for an hour or so with the non-MMO ones.  I don’t think I can risk getting addicted to MMO’s again if I ever want to get this writing career off the ground.

Wow, that was harder than it looked.  Now for the other list that needs to go with this.  6 Bloggers I would like to award myself…  After some thought:

  1. Of A Writerly Sort
  2. LifeInTheFarceLane
  3. It’s a Big Man’s World
  4. Meredith Mansfield’s Blog
  5. On Diversion
  6. Klextin

So there’s my list of people who I admire Kreativly, who I think deserve some recognition.  I hope you enjoy their blogs as much as I do.

