I thought about posting last night, seeing as it was the end of the first full week of NaNo, but I didn’t have that much to say, so I decided to roll it into tonight’s post and keep it to a rate of about two days at a time.  That seems to give me enough time to think of something to say, so here it is.

Looking back:

It’s been a wild week.  The last day of the first week went well, despite a fairly unpleasant day at work.  Ah, how hot chocolate made from Frye’s Cocoa can patch anything up.  I sat down, did my usual struggle (though less so than usual) through the first 1667 words or so to get the pressure off and then took off running.  I finished Chapter 3 off before calling it a night, which gave me a total for yesterday of 2473, and put my 7-day total at 15663.  A pretty awesome feeling to end the first week with.  I’m not sure that I could keep this pace up every day for the whole year round, but I’m almost positive that, short of full story derailment, I can do it for the rest of the month and probably the rest of the book, which I still think will take more than November to write.

Looking ahead:

And so I begin Week 2 with Chapter 4 tonight.  It has gone well, which gets the week going in the right direction.  2309 words written tonight, with a good set up for tomorrow.  I’m now nearly 3 days ahead of pace, or well on my way to blowing the 50k goal out of the water if I don’t take any days off this month.  And I don’t think I will, except maybe the two off of work that I’m planning late in the month for some concentrated writing time.  🙂

One of the nice things tonight was that, thanks to some time spent thinking about what I wanted to write at work and after I got home as I made dinner, the first 1667 were not really a struggle.  A little over an hour and I had that out of the way.  Then I just kept going, as usual.  I probably could go a bit further tonight, I’m awake enough for it, but it felt like a good place to stop, a good place for me to start from tomorrow after work, so I’m going to heed that.  As it was, I beat pace by a lot, so I’m happy.  I think it’s going to be a good week word-wise anyway, as Friday is a statutory holiday here in BC (To a girl who grew up in Ontario, where it isn’t, that seems strange still), which just gives me more time to write.

With three chapters down, I expect that my two protagonists will be meeting up by the end of this week, at the pace I’m currently maintaining.  That will mean that, as judged by the passing of words, the story will move ahead at a somewhat faster pace, which will be good in a way, though I have to remember to keep up the character development, both for the two protagonists and everyone else.  No one in the story should be like a cardboard cutout or placeholder.

On the subject of pace, I noticed that my pace seemed to be building as the first week progressed, and part of me hopes that will continue through this week.  Perhaps I’m just getting back in the practice of writing, getting my mental muscles back into shape (if only I could do that with my body in a week or two).  I’m not sure if it’s that, but I am enjoying it.  And I’m enjoying NaNo, far far more than I expected.  I sometimes forget, amid the pressure I put on myself about getting it right and trying to meet entirely artificial deadlines (like my desire to be published by 35), how much I love to write, how much a part of me it is.  I’m remembering that right now, how it feels like running did when I was a child, like the ultimate freedom.  The way the words flow by, the way the story builds both on the page and in me, it feels like the wind in my hair and across my skin when I was running as a kid.  It feels amazing.  And even though the path to that freedom is now different, it feels even better than amazing to know that I can still have that feeling.  I feel the oddest sense of peace with my life right now.  I’m doing what I should be in this world.  Even if it never gets published, I am what I am supposed to be at this moment, a writer of tales.  Nothing I’ve ever felt in this life can compare to the peace I feel right now in me.  And with it, a sense of gratitude for the experience, and the support of my friends and family who have graciously told me to go for it, who are cheering me on, rather than saying something along the lines of “50,000 words in a single month?  You’re crazy.”  I love you all.  Thank you!

