I’ve been quiet here for a reason. I’ve been a bit busy over the last week and a half. Before that, I just didn’t have much to say. But the last week and a half have been good, with a full outline of a new novel completed. I’m tentatively calling it The Dark Mirror, and if it sounds like a title, that’s because it kind of is. I’m normally bad at those, and this one may change, but it currently feels right.

Following on this amazing success of my first decent beginning-to-end outline, I’m going to do something ambitious. Something I’ve never done and that the idea of doing has scared me. I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year. It’s short for National Novel Writing Month, and it happens every year in November. You’re supposed to write a fresh novel, starting November 1st (aka tomorrow) and keep at it until the 30th. The goal is at least 50,000 words. I think I’ll need more than that to finish this novel, and the whole thing may take me more than November, but the idea for me behind doing NaNo this year is that I’m fairly ready, and to have it be something to drive me forward.

I’m not going to talk here about what this novel is about, not going to give you more than the title. I will report here at least once a week with a word total for the week. To hit 50k for the month, I need to put up at least 1667 words per day, every day of the month. This translates into a goal of 11,669 per week. That’s the minimum. I’m hoping to at least hit that. I have a good feeling. I may even pop in here to crow about especially good days, where I blow the goal out of the water. We’ll see about that though. And I’m holding details close to the chest on this one as a further kick in the pants to get to the end. So I can share the story. I like to tell stories, to put them together. Maybe if I stop telling them to people before they’re written, I will actually finish something, if only so I CAN tell someone the story somehow.

And yes, I’ve been working a bit at Invisible, but got heavily distracted by Dark Mirror. I’ll get back to it, really.

