After a slow start to this week’s writing, it’s been a fantastic weekend.    I didn’t write nearly as much as I’d hoped during the week, only about 500 words between Monday and Thursday, and I was a little discouraged going into the weekend, especially with a goal of 5000.  I decided to just see what I could get done, figuring that any writing is better than no writing and that, if I didn’t meet my goal, I’d try to get as close as I could at least.   Well, the day’s not over and so far, “Close as I can” is 4.5k and I’m fairly sure I’m not done writing for the day.  I also have pretty much my next week’s worth of writing planned out (what to write, not when).  And, again, I’m fairly happy with what I’ve been getting down.  I’ve been coming up with some background stuff and twisting stuff a little, weaving it all in as I write or adding it as I need to.  I’ve even got one character’s sub-plot started, which is good.

All in all, I’m in pretty good shape.  Almost 20k so far, probably get it over that before the day’s over.  Next week’s goal will be 5k again.  We’ll see how that goes before I think of upping the goal again.  5k a week, if it’s decent draft seems a fair goal to me, especially since I’ve got work all week too.  Still a long way to go, and I don’t want to sabotage myself by setting the goal too high for me to reach.  If that means it takes a bit longer to finish but it does eventually get finished, that’s fine with me.  Finishing a novel would be a wonderful first for me.

On another note, I got my first photo trip of the weekend in this morning.  It’s a wonderful Spring day out today and all week I’ve seen the flowers and trees budding and blooming, so I went out with my husband and our cameras.  A lot of pink, as the cherry blossoms are totally out there, but so beautiful.  I’ve thrown up a gallery in the usual place.

